The Management Committee

The Association's Committee of Management is made up of Association Members voted in by the membership at the Annual General Meeting (AGM). The Committee of Management makes important decisions in the running of the Association between AGMs.

More details of our Governance Structure can be found here and the Association's Rules (based on the Scottish Federation of Housing Associations Charitable Model Rules (Scotland) 2013) can be found here.

All Committee Members adhere to the Code of Conduct for Governing Body Members, their Register of Interest can be found here and a list of expenses found here.

Agnes Tallack

Chair - Elected 23/08/2018

Committee Member

Elected 18/09/2008

Agnes Tallack has been on the board of Hjaltland since September 2008 and is currently the chair. For most of her career she has worked in education and training and now runs her own coaching and mentoring business.

Jeff Goddard

Vice Chair - Elected 23/08/2018

Committee Member

Elected 18/01/2001

Jeff Goddard is the current Vice Chair at HHA. Professionally, he has been a Chartered Accountant and Investment Manager. He now owns and operates a small guest house with his wife and is also a Tour Guide taking visitors to most parts of Shetland. Jeff joined the board in January 2001.

Kerry Eunson

Treasurer - Elected 23/08/2018

Committee Member

Elected 24/08/2017

Kerry Eunson currently works at Shetland Arts Development Agency as the Head of Organisational Support previously working as an auditor. She is involved with fundraising for Cancer Research UK as a member of the CRUK Relay for Life Shetland Committee and joined Hjaltland in August 2017.

Colin Nicholson

Committee Member

Elected 21/05/2015

Colin Nicholson joined the Board of Hjaltland in May 2015. His working life has been spent in the oil and gas industry, offshore, onshore and overseas. He is currently Chairman of Shetland Classic Motor Show and is a non-executive board member of Lerwick Port Authority.

Karen Eunson

Committee Member

Elected 23/08/2018

Karen Eunson is the Manager of Shetland Islands Citizens Advice Bureau. She is on the editorial committee of the New Shetlander magazine, and is one of our newest Hjaltland board members joining in August 2018.

Leah Irvine

Committee Member

Elected 21/05/2015

Leah Irvine has been a board member at Hjaltland since May 2015, and is the Business Development Officer at Economic Development at Shetland Island Council she is also Vice Chair for Young Enterprise Shetland.

Peter Coleman

Committee Member

Elected 23/08/2012

Peter Coleman is Manager of Shetlands Electrical Wholesalers, Rexel (Previously L.E.S.S.), and was formally a Children’s Panel Member in Glasgow and ex Lerwick Community Council Member. He has been a member of Hjaltland since August 2012.

Jim Anderson

Committee Member

Elected 19/08/2010

Jim Anderson is currently Chairman of Lerwick Community Council and also the Chairman of the Association of Shetland Community Councils. He has been with Hjaltland since August 2010.

Bobby Hunter

Committee Member

Elected 18/01/2001

Bobby Hunter joined Hjaltland in January 2001 he is a past chairman of the Shetland Charitable Trust, Vice chair of Shetland Development Trust and is currently Lord –Lieutenant of Shetland. Bobby has been involved in various businesses in Shetland from electrical equipment supply to Fish Farming and Crofting.

Liz Anderson

Committee Member

Elected 24/08/2017

Liz Anderson joined the Hjaltland board in August 2017 and is also a member of the Hjaltland Tenant Focus Group. Liz’s involvement in social housing goes back to the early 1990’s, and she has been a tenant of Hjaltland Housing Association since 2015. Liz has a BA in Accountancy and Business Law and was a former Chief Executive of the charity Spinal Injuries Scotland before retiring in 2010.

Gordon Mitchell

Committee Member

Elected 17/09/1980

Gordon Mitchell is a retired North Sea helicopter training captain and manager. After retiring, he served for 8 years as a member of Shetland Islands Council.

He has been on the Hjaltland Committee since September 1980, serving as Vice-Chair and Chair for several years. He is also on the Board of Hjaltland Trading Ltd.

He was Chair of Shetland Islands Citizens Advice Bureau and recently stood down but he remains a Board Member. Gordon is also a Board Member of HI-Scot Credit Union, serves on the Committee of Morton Lodge Social Club and on the Committee of the Shetland Probus Club.

Theo Smith

Committee Member

Elected 28/03/2013

Theo Smith is currently a member of Shetland Islands Council, having been elected in 2012 and re-elected in 2017 and is presently vice-chair of the Education & Families Committee. Previously he spent all his working life in architecture and was a partner in a local practice for 27 years. He has been a member of Hjaltland Housing Association since March 2013.

Next in Information


Hjaltland Housing Association takes great pride in delivering excellent services and believe the way to do this is by employing excellent people.